The Voice Gallery II

Traveler: Katie Mines

734897_10151415988462394_1529898210_nBio: Katie is a 35 year old New Zealand woman who previously taught ESL in South Korea for 7 years before travelling for another 2 years. Now she lives back in New Zealand with her 2 year old daughter, teaching art to children and working part time wherever she fancies. She loves painting, enjoying the beautiful landscape of New Zealand and working in animal welfare where possible.
Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip? The impetus for my trip was simply the need to travel. I was 24 years old and it was my first solo backpacking trip from South Korea where I was teaching.
Q2: Tell me about a person you met. / Q3: How did this trip change your life? The person I met was called Bpat. That is all that I really know about him…except that he is a kind soul and my first ever friend in a foreign country aside from Korea where I lived at the time. It was literally my first night in Bangkok and I was so excited but it was early evening and I simply needed some food before settling down in my simple hotel room. Jet lagged, tired and hungry I ventured out in the streets just to find something for dinner and having no idea what to expect. It turns out I was in a pretty run down, dark and dismal part of the city. I walked a few blocks, but most shops were closing up and there didn’t appear any hope for a meal! Then I see an old man pushing a cart with steaming metal buckets and all sorts of interesting jars and food containers rattling on top. He stopped to serve a man nearby. I was curious, so was watching and wondering whether I should ‘risk it’ and buy some of this mystery food! I had been in Thailand only a few hours and hadn’t yet learned any phrases. The sole customer saw me staring, then paid the man and received TWO bowls and gestured to me to sit down. He was simply perched on the side of the road, against a shop window…no seats. I decided that I could not turn this down…it was clearly street food, but coming from a steaming hot cart which ‘looked legit’ I thought….well, only one way to find out! I saw the food being served straight from the cart, and saw the old man continue down the street, so in that sense I knew where the food came from at least! I decided to join my new friend to eat. He couldn’t speak a single word of English (neither could the old man), and I couldn’t speak any Thai except for Sa-wa-dee-ka (hello), so it was a VERY interesting meal. He punched his own chest and said “Bpat” and I punched my own chest and said “Katie” and then we ate. I have no idea what the meal actually was, but could take a pretty good guess in saying offal soup. Something I would never normally order otherwise, but turned out pretty good, even though I was almost vegetarian at the time! I was talking to him in very slow English “delicious” “thank you!” “what is this?” etc and he was speaking to me in very slow Thai, however it was all pointless, and both of us clearly had no idea what the other was saying. However….we shared a hot bowl of broth on a lonely, dark evening, on the side of the dirty road in the middle of Bangkok: a lone Kiwi and a lone Thai man, with no other agenda, than to share a bowl of broth. It was beautiful. He took my bowl, shook my hand, bowed a little and I stood to return the bow. That was the first person I really ‘met’ on my first night of traveling ever in my life. And after that trip, I travelled alone through all of Thailand (4 times), Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia (twice), China, Japan, 42 States of America, the South of Canada, England, Scotland and most of Africa. I have met literally hundreds of people along the way, and will never forget Bpat, for showing me the simple and kindest gesture, of a handshake, a smile, and a kind deed, even if you can’t share a single word in the same language.
Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip? I had one carry on bag on this trip (it was just one month) and about 4 changes of clothes, so I can’t really think of a must-have to be honest.  I was safe in the sense that I had previously had all my inoculations for disease, obviously had a passport, but everything else (mosquito repellant, toiletries, hats, clothes etc) could be purchased in Thailand for much cheaper than home. So to answer this question, I will say: the ability to ‘make do’ and rough it sometimes (Asia can be testing for 5 star travellers as well as backpackers!) and two more qualities: courage and spontaneity (the latter, to make the most of situations like I described).
Q5: What was the best foreign word you learned? The best foreign word I learned on that trip was: Kap-kun-ka (thank you).
Q6: What do you think there should be a Nobel Prize for?
There should be a Nobel peace price for those amazing people who have made gains in the rights of animals and the planet.
Q7: If you could be transported to one place at one time, what would it be and why?
If I could be transported to one place at one time, I would choose….my 9 year old self, when I used to worry about things that only adults should worry about; and tell myself that everything was going to be ok.
Bpat.
Bpat.
Traveler: Daniel Rodriguez
316728_10150862031185417_1229843185_nBio: Daniel is a global citizen currently living in the west side of Toronto, Canada. He owns a beautiful 5 bedroom 3 bathroom, townhouse in the High Park neighborhood where the Walk Score is 100/100. He is a primary school teacher at an affluent, eco-friendly TDSB school. He rides his bike to school in just 3 minutes and is part of an auto share program when he needs a car for an out of town excursion. Daniel must travel to one new country each year that he lives. Daniel is 35 and has been to 35 countries thus far. He has been achieving all the goals he has set over the past 10 years and will continue doing so until the day he passes on. Daniel also suffers from body dysmorphic disorder and is borderline anxious and borderline obsessive compulsive.
Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip?
My most recent trips have been Florida in March 2014 and my most recent trip to another ‘new’ country was Brazil in July 2013. The inspiration for the California and Florida trip was simply to obtain heat during a long harsh Canadian winter. Toronto and most of eastern Canada was facing the truth of extreme weather of climate change. It was an extra-ordinarily cold and long winter and Daniel needed to get away for some sunshine (Vitamin D) and some warm, Atlantic ocean vibes not too far from home (3 hours directly south).  My impetus for my trip to Brazil was purely the need to be surrounded by hot Brazilian vibes and to practice Portuguese; my linguistic hunger was high and English was boring my tongue. I also needed to get away from North American culture for a while with my partner and explore the world a bit without the regular routines we have in place at home in our community.
Q2: Tell me about a person you met.
We met many people on both trips but of the two countries I would say that my most memorable person was a homeless child on the streets of Rio de Janeiro feeding her 2 homeless kittens on a sidewalk in the bright heat of the day. She was sharing some scraps of food she had scavenged from a rubbish bin. She seemed very content and comfortable out in the open in this condition and was smiling and happily at us as she fed her cats. I wanted to hand her some money or some of the fresh food I was enjoying but the bus I was on drove off instantly. I had been arguing with David earlier that morning and was distracted from my anger upon watching the girl and the kittens. I learned from that moment that happiness is a state of mind not something you can possess from consumerism (which is what North American values seem to otherwise teach).
Q3: How did this trip change your life?
I think I answered this above. It was immediate awareness that we create our problems, and that emotions can easily be altered by changing your focus.
Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip?
I am taking this question very practically and literally…Passport, wallet and a flexible, open-mind.
Q5: What was the best foreign word you learned?
The best foreign word I learned was “obrigado,” which is thank you in Portuguese.  
Q6: What do you think there should be a Nobel prize for?
I think there should be a Nobel prize for Earth Rights Activism (encompassing Humans, Animals, Plants and ALL living things on)
Q7: If you could be transported to one place at one time, what would it be and why?
Hawaii…I had travelled there 15 years ago for a summer during my undergraduate years and completely enjoyed the climate, the relaxed life cycle and the joys of being surrounded by the largest ocean on this planet. The air, water and plant life was pure and clean. I felt a sense of isolation but also great comfort in my surroundings. Picking fresh fruit off the highway, swimming in pools of water and jumping from waterfalls, drinking water from springs and camping on the beach. Being carefree was that experience and I would like that right now. Being an adult with responsibilities can sometimes be daunting. So please teleport me right now to my youth that summer in Hawaii.
 Traveler: Jessica Karpinski
jessBio: Jessica is a teacher currently traveling in South America who enjoys trying different kinds of foods and drinking coffee.
Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip?
The impetus for my trip was to see sights that I have never seen before and practice speaking Spanish.
Q2: Tell me about a person you met.
I met a woman from Argentina during a lunch stop on the way to Machu Picchu.  When I asked her if she was scared of the narrow roads which the bus was taking to Machu Picchu, she just laughed and said she was used to them because the roads are similar in her area of Argentina.    I thought the roads were very narrow and I felt like I was on the edge of a cliff for hours.  I suppose it is all what one is used to.
Q3: How did this trip change your life?
It hasn’t changed my life but there are still three more weeks in the trip.  Let´s see what happens!
Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip? Sun screen, reusable water bottle, passport.
Q5: What is the best foreign word you learned?
The best foreign word I learned is “apu,” which is Quecha for ´mountain´. It means more than just mountain and refers to more of the spirit of the mountain.
Q6: What do you think there should be a Nobel prize for?
There should be a Nobel Prize for anyone who works hard for the progression of green energy.
Q7: If you could be transported to one place at one time, what would it be and why? 
I would be transported to Ancient Rome to not only experience the life of an Ancient Roman, but to also see if I remember any of my high school Latin.
1
234
Traveler: Amit CV
 27836_1494901210362_5591106_nBio: Amit CV is from Kochi, India and currently living in New Delhi.  Amit is an artist by nature, a biker by influence & a yoga practitioner/teacher by choice, who constantly craves for the saltiness of the sea & sweet smell of mountains.
Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip?
I have a huge wish list of places to see before I die, from Bhutan to Patagonia. I take my trips to tick them off one by one. The last one was to Cyprus & Croatia.
Q2: Tell me about a person you met.
I got introduced to an insanely talented sunglass designer in Croatia who is constantly on the high of art & life. The energy was so much, it keeps me inspired still.
Q3: How did this trip change your life?
Every trip makes me appreciate how the locals take pride in their culture, cuisine & way of living. It reinstates every time the love for my own culture.
Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip? Smartphone, Sunglasses & Swim shorts.

Q5: The best foreign words I learned are Grazie, S’il vous plaît & Gracias…very very handy!

Q6: What do you think there should be a Nobel prize for? There should be a Nobel Prize for Mother Earth for its brilliance in evolution without asking for anything in return.

Q7: If you could be transported to one place at one time, what would it be and why?
To any mediterranean coast in summer, just for the joy of a dip in the sea & simple tasteful food. La dolce vita. 30864_448366291977_906646_n 541761_3542861288084_561003840_n
534891_10200840181664710_347950599_n 247599_4734818846278_62672281_n488197_521793397836491_1150840676_n 

Traveler: Joo Seong Park

Bio:  Joo Seong is studying English to prepare for college abroad,  and is interested in other foreign languages as well, including Japanese which he speaks fluently. Joo seong says he is a sort of wanderlust person.

Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip?

In 2012 I went to Canada and traveled around the Rocky mountain range. It was so impressive.  I have never been to such spectacular, beautiful places as the glacier and those lakes. After I came back to Korea I felt had to go abroad again.

Q2: Tell me about a person you met.

I met a woman who came from Seoul in Korea. She was attractive, because she is one of the most enthusiastic people I’ve met. She works for Toyota and goes to a lot of countries for business trips. Her style of work and travel is what I want for myself.

Q3: How did this trip change your life?

Because of the person I met in Canada, I made up my mind to study English for getting my ideal job, so I can visit a lot of countries for work and travel.

Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip?

  1. A local guide book and phrasebook.
  2. phone
  3. camera

Q5: What is the best foreign word you learned?

The best foreign word I learned is “akan which is a Japanese word from the Osaka dialect meaning “no” or “impossible.”

Q6: What do you think there should be a Nobel Prize for?

I think there should be a special prize for animal conservationists. So many animals are dying out, or in danger of becoming extinct.

Q7: If you could be transported to one place at one time, what would it be and why?

I want to be transported to Tibet before it was invaded by China. Tibetans are pure and innocent.  I want to learn their wisdom, from the Dalai Lama and the Tibetan people.

1377271_734980093184486_1026682108_n

 

Traveler: Chris Ciosk

206736_10150267368609946_1333895241_nBio: Born in Toronto, and a graduate from Ryerson’s film program, Chris Ciosk can usually be found somewhere or other teaching scuba diving, working on a film, getting out for an adventure, or occasionally just being a bit silly.
You can check out some very sporadic blog posts at:
http://chrisciosk.com/wordpress

Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip?

I’d always wanted to get away for a year of traveling before I settled in to some sort of “career”. So, after graduating film school, when I was making a documentary with my roommate about our quest to become the perfect elves so we could appear in The Hobbit movie, I made sure the project included eight months of travel before arriving in New Zealand. I’d be doing things like hiking into a little village in Nepal and learning archery from the kids there to help build my portfolio of ‘elven skills’ for this movie. But when I got to New Zealand, The Hobbit got delayed beyond the scope of my visa, and my eight months of travel turned into five years.

Q2: Tell me about a person you met.

Once I met an Israeli acrobat in Morocco, who’d cycled down from the north of Spain on a half-year trip. He’d been so long without someone to talk to, that our meeting turned into him doing what was basically an incredibly physical and more than a bit intoxicated eight hour performance of everything that had happened to him, basically in his entire life. He’d always talk about what he did recently in the first person plural (we, us), and for ages I expected to meet his travelling companion, but it turned out “Cesar” wasn’t actually a person, but the name that he gave to his bike that he had started talking to over the course of his travels.

Q3: How did this trip change your life?

It has had the rather unfortunate effect that I seem to be always homesick for somewhere no matter where I am! But I’ve learned so much and met so many cool people that it’s just opened up thousands of ideas about what life could be like, I’m sure that I’m a completely different person in too many ways from when I left. Even when I’m staying still these days, I still like to stay in the travelling state of mind by having couchsurfers stay over every once in a while.

Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip?

Backpack, clothes, and sunscreen. You wouldn’t always want to travel that light, but it’s a lot of fun once in a while.

Q5: What is the best foreign word you learned?

I like the Indian phrase that you say before drinking: “Jai Ho!” Not only is it fun to say but it also literally translates to “Victory, let it be!” Which is what we all really want to toast before drinking, none of this ‘to your health’ or ‘cheers’ nonsense that you get in other languages.

Also, as a bilingual dive instructor, I’m rather enamored with the French word for buoyancy: “Flottabilité”

Q6: What do you think there should be a Nobel Prize for?

Outstanding oral hygiene.

Q7: If you could be transported to one place at one time, what would it be and why?

I’d probably head back to the late 50s and make friends with Ringo so I could spend the 60s hanging out with The Beatles and getting up to all sorts of nonsense.

 

1013888_10150305877499946_109698758_n

 

 

535710_101097163385413_703143359_n

Traveler: Gary Goodwill

Bio: Gary is a passionate adventurer and spiritual seeker in Canada who loves to explore the wonders of nature and to work towards global peace. I love dancing, singing, reading, writing, traveling, adventure, laughing… all the good things in life! J

Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip?

I was traveling to the Amazon in Peru to work with shamanic plant medicines… and to radically change my life.

Q2: Tell me about a person you met.

I met a lovely woman from New Zealand who was a part of our travel group. She was so good to me while I wasn’t feeling well. She was also a lot of fun. We are still friends today. J

Q3: How did this trip change your life?

Oh my lanta… it really opened my eyes to different cultures and styles of living. I also left everything familiar behind to pursue this trip and through this I have learned to trust, let go and have faith!

Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip?

-Essential oils to repel mosquitoes (didn’t really work though :P)
-Shorts (I LOVE TO SWIM – THE AMAZON RIVER WAS AMAZING!)
-Journal

Q5: What is the best foreign word you learned?

Poquito – little. Very cute.

Q6: What do you think there should be a Nobel prize for?

LOVE and HUMILITY.

Q7: If you could be transported to one place at one time, what would it be and why?

I would love to see the world when the dinosaurs were alive because the world was so new and pristine. And plus, dinosaurs are awesome (though I far prefer the herbivores.

 

10553365_307191776109283_619758465901985503_n 20909_162926360535826_2102859939_n

 Traveler: Eugene Smith

28061_561588677200035_1792801294_nBio:  Eugene Smith is a British-Korean Rock musician currently studying History in Portland, Oregon.

 

 

 

 

Q1: What was the impetus (reason/inspiration) for your trip?

In December 2004, my family embarked on a trip to Phuket, Thailand. It was during our Christmas break and initially appeared to be just another small trip to South East Asia.

Q2: How did this trip change your life?

The day after Christmas my family decided to go to the beach early. We strolled down from the hotel but then realized that my mum had forgotten her wallet. We returned to the hotel to grab the wallet before we resumed our journey. Suddenly we heard an explosion. I thought it was a terrorist attack since it had only been two years after the Bali Bombings. The sound actually came from the underground water pipes exploding from massive quantities of pressure. We could see everybody running, even trucks reversing. I looked towards what people were fleeing from and I saw the wave. It towered over the distant coconut trees. My dad grabbed my hand and we immediately ran for it. We were extremely lucky. If my mother would have remembered her wallet, we would have been on the beach and would not have survived. Our hotel was up in the hills and was not destroyed. Once our trip was finished and we were at the airport to leave Thailand, we found out that Korean Air cancelled our flights back home, since they did not want to send empty planes to Thailand. Every other airline accepted profit loss and instead prioritized rescuing their citizens. After staying in the airport for an irritating amount of time with my mother screaming at the booking agent, we managed to catch a free first class flight back. We were extremely lucky that none of us got hurt or lost anything. Needless to say, we have never flown Korean air internationally since.

Q3: Tell me about a person you met.

A few days before the tsunami we were at a lovely restaurant run by a Norwegian couple right on the beach. We visited them a few times and enjoyed their service. After the first wave we couldn’t identify where the restaurant was in the rubble. I hope they weren’t running the business on that fateful morning.

Q4: What three items are must-bring things for you on your trip?

A Swiss Army Knife, a clean bottle of water, and a ticket to a foreign country that isn’t from Korean Air.

Q5: What do you think there should be a Nobel Prize for?

There should be a Nobel Prize for individual acts of heroism conducted by people without an official profession. Tilly Smith was a 10 year old girl who knew that a beach that initially empties itself of water is a sign of an incoming tsunami. She saved many lives by warning a beach that a tsunami was about to strike.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Voice Gallery II”

  1. Rhea! Wow! What a wonderful idea to have a Voice Gallery! I thought it was a brilliant idea to use the exact same questions with each interview! Each person was so unique and it was fascinating to learn about each person’s experiences. My favorite question was “Tell me about a person you met” because I felt that when I was reading, I was actually learning about two people with each reading!

    I loved the pictures with each person as it added a personal dimension!

    Thanks for sharing!!

    Kelly

  2. Hi Rhea, this is a great idea for our “interview” assignment and I think it worked out really well. How fun to record the stories of other travelers, and as you said, engage others in a reflective travel process. These posts also demonstrate how you’ve developed a kind of traveler community, and give us insight into people who chose travel as a way of life. Like Kelly, I think my favorite question was “Tell me about a person you met.” The answers were so varied – some simple, some profound, some somber.

    In the first post, you kind of explain how you chose these people for the interviews, but I think some details about how you know each person, as well as an explanation of how the interview was done, email vs. phone, would provide more transparency. I like that you created a second post for the additional interviews and would love to see this series continue if you keep blogging when class ends.

    1. Heidi,

      I did some as interviews, but most as questionnaires with prompting through either phone, messaging, or video calls. The people
      interviewed I met through work, studying various hobbies, networking, and Kari is my cousin (the scuba diving diva.) Almost all of them I met abroad, and some of them are expats like me, or locals. A couple of them were my students. I am still expecting a lot more, and also looking forward to seeing how it turns out. Indeed a traveler community forms over time. Some of my contributors I met this year, some I’ve known more than ten years (or my lifetime).

      As I gather more, I might try rearranging them in a different interface. I’m a newbie at blogging and still struggle with some technical points.

      Thanks for your insights.

      Rhea

Leave a comment